My Oil-Free, Yeast Free, Whole Wheat Pizza Dough

I’ve never been one who enjoys the long rise times of traditional, yeast pizza dough. I prefer meals that are quick and simple to prepare and that go from start to table within 30-45 minutes. This is a crust that I created through experimentation, and I believe that it came out really well! I enjoy it with my homemade pizza sauce and fresh red peppers. Click here for the pizza sauce recipe.

IMG_2342

Ingredients:

– 2.5 cups of organic, whole wheat flour (you may need a little bit more if your dough is too sticky)

– 2 tsp baking powder

– 2/3 cup unsweetened, unflavored almond milk

– 1/4 cup of unsweetened applesauce

Directions:

– Place dry ingredients into food process and process for 5-10 seconds to mix ingredients

– Then add all wet ingredients to dry ingredients and process until a ball of dough forms

– If dough is too sticky, add more flour and process

– Sprinkle flour on counter surface and rolling pin and roll dough into desired size crust, roll down edges of crust

– Place dough on pizza stone (pizza pan) and then add tomato sauce and other fresh veggies on dough and bake at 425 F for 15 minutes. If using a pizza stone, preheat your stone as the oven preheats and sprinkle cornstarch on stone just prior to placing dough on stone to prevent sticking.

– NOTE: If using the above dough recipe with my homemade pizza sauce and 1 red pepper, the calorie count is about 185 calories per slice! THAT’S AMAZING AND RIDICULOUSLY GUILT-FREE! 

Leave a comment